Modus Communicate uses User Roles to provide you the ability to control the permissions users can be assigned to. Administrators can custom build roles unique and specific to user permissions to manage user access to such tasks as editing content, editing users, app theming, etc.
Modus has four pre-defined roles: Admin, Manager, Editor, and Viewer. Each role comes with a set of permissions that provides users with certain access levels. There are many permissions including "Change users", "Change account", and "Change categories & groups". A default set of permissions is pre-assigned to each role, but other permissions can be assigned or removed using the edit button.
On the list page, users will see each pre-determined user role. Next to the user role, you will see how many permissions are listed, along with how many user are assigned to each role:
You can add a new role by clicking on the "Add" button in the upper left hand corner:
From here, you can add users to your unique role, set the languages, add (or delete permissions), and add or limit the Categories and Groups. You will want to make sure you click "Save" when you have completed adding your new role or editing an existing role:
To set your user role access to your groups, tap into the folder permissions. A modal will appear that will allow you to set user role folder access. By tapping the pen icon, you provide your user role with editing access to the group or category within Media Manager; the eye icon will allow only read access to the group and category content; by choosing the strikethrough, no access will given to the user role:
Admins can also set granular folder restrictions within a group. Tap the "Go" button next to each group:
this will open the folder structure where you can select edit, view, or restricted access per category:
You can also edit an existing role that has already been created. Just click on the user role name, and you can follow the same steps as above to custom-build an established role. Make sure to click "Save" when completed.
Finally, you can delete a user role by tapping the "delete" icon to the right of the user role. Please note that if you delete a user role, the users assigned to that role will go unassigned and lose access to Media Manager as well as the app platform, so you will want to ensure that your users get re-assigned to a new role: